Yaghouti Rohrberg Team

Buy, Rent, Live!

FacebookButton TwitterButton


Source: REBNY

Landmark Properties Growing

Since 1965, the NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission has granted landmark status to more than 29,000 buildings and sites, including 1,305 individual landmarks, 114 interior landmarks, 10 scenic landmarks, 107 historic districts and 17 historic district extensions in all five boroughs.

In the last fiscal year alone, the Landmarks Preservation Commission added a total of 1,499 buildings to the inventory. Every designation brings a requirement that renovations be approved in advance by the Landmarks Preservation Commission and designation impacts the potential development that can occur on the site.

The most recently designated historic district is the Park Slope Historic District extension containing 600 properties. Combined with the original Park Slope Historic District, the designation covers 2,575 buildings. Other large historic districts include Greenwich Village (2,315 buildings) and the Upper West Side (2,020 buildings).

The Upper West Side expansions would be in addition to the existing 9 historic districts and a number of individual landmarks in this neighborhood. Sixty-eight percent of the tax blocks in that neighborhood’s Community District already contain a designated property. There more to come.

Since 2006, the Landmarks Preservation Commission staff has surveyed nearly 30,000 buildings to assess their suitability for landmarking. Now in the designation pipeline are the 825-building Bedford-Stuyvesant/Expanded Stuyvesant Heights Historic District, the 640-building Crown Heights North III Historic District, a 900-building proposed district in central Ridgewood, a 330-building district in the East Village and three Upper West Side district expansions on Riverside Drive, West End Avenue and Broadway consisting of approximately 745 buildings.

More information about historic districts and designated landmarks can be found on the Landmarks Preservation Commission

website http://www.nyc.gov/html/lpc/html/home/home.shtml